top of page

5 Children's Books That Will Make You Smile


C. S. Lewis once said:

"A children's story which is only enjoyed by children is a bad children's story."

I quite agree. Children's books should not only be enjoyed throughout the ages but also by all ages.


Why? The answer is simple: deep down in our hearts, we're still children. In fact, I think we need children's stories to keep living well. We need children's stories to be reminded of the simple truths we often forget the older we become. We need to remember what it's like to wonder at the beautiful things, to be excited about the smallest details, and to believe that anything is possible.


And let's face it: deep down, we still really love the pictures. ;)


Today I want to share with you my top favorite children's books that I've come to know and love! Some are from when I was young and some I discovered within the last few years. These books are sure to bring a smile to your face and joy to your heart!


1. The Quilt Makers Gift by Jeff Brumbeau

This is my absolute FAVORITE children's book of all time! The pictures are gorgeous and really make the book come alive! Not only that, but the story is precious and packed with great lessons for young and old alike! This book is pretty much an allegorical and visual representation of what it would look like if the rich young ruler gave away all that he had and followed Jesus.


Synopsis:

When a generous quiltmaker finally agrees to make a quilt for a greedy king but only under certain conditions, she causes him to undergo a change of heart.



2. Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes

This book will forever hold a special place in my heart! <3 When I was quite young, my mom would read this book aloud to me and I LOVED it! The way she read this sweet story with various intonations in her voice and emphasis on certain words made me feel safe and loved!


Synopsis:

Chrysanthemum is a funny and honest school story about teasing, self-esteem, and acceptance to share all year round.

Chrysanthemum thinks her name is absolutely perfect—until her first day of school. "You're named after a flower!" teases Victoria.

"Let's smell her," says Jo.

Chrysanthemum wilts. What will it take to make her blossom again?



3. Old MacDonald Had A Truck by Steve Goetz

The first time I read/sang this book aloud to my younger sister, we laughed our heads off! This book is so fun and brought so much joy to my heart as my little sister tried to pronounce words with me!


Synopsis:

Old MacDonald has some new friends on the farm: Old MacDonald had a farm E-I-E-I-O. And on that farm he had a...TRUCK?! With a DIG DIG here and a SCOOP SCOOP there, this classic folk song just got revved up! Beloved machines—the excavator, dump truck, bulldozer, and more—will have vehicle enthusiasts of all ages reading and singing along.


4. Pirates on the Farm by Denette Fretz

Not only is this book funny, but it also teaches us about loving our neighbors, no matter who they are, what they do, or what they look like. I also love a good pirate tale (Arrrr... ahoy matey!)


Synopsis:

The Pirates Next Door, written by Denette Jenkins Fretz and illustrated by Gene Barretta, tells the tale of five brazen pirates who swap high seas adventures for life on a farm. When your neighbors are mischievous pirates, calamity becomes commonplace. Each member of the unadventurous Sanders family must choose how to respond to the pirates and their antics. Mother forms a Ban the Buccaneers Brigade, eight-year-old Joey imitates everything the pirates do, his older sister keeps her distance, and Dad quietly helps the outcasts find their 'land legs.' Humor encases the story's theme of loving eccentric neighbors... as yourself.


5. Hop Along Boo - Time For Bed by Mandy Sutcliffe

My very youngest sister fell in love with this book and had me read it again and again before bed. I couldn't really figure out why she loved it so much apart from the ballerinas and rabbit in it, but it didn't take me long. The artwork in this book is phenomenal and I began to see that it was the gentle colors, little nuances, and sweet characters that my sis fell in love with. And I fell in love with it too. :)


Synopsis:

Join Belle and her bunny, Boo, as they follow ballerinas, cowboys, pirates, and others through dreamy fantasies to a cozy bed of their own. Gentle rhymes and luminous illustrations will help little ones wind down and tuck in for a good night's sleep. This lullaby journey is as captivating and soothing as any parent or child could want — by the end, there won't be an open eye in the house!


Hope you liked this top five post! I highly encourage you to check these books out and let me know which one was your favorite! (And here's a little tip: these books are best enjoyed with a child or two on your lap! ;))


What is your favorite children's book? Tell me in the comments below!


33 views1 comment
Untitled design (6).png
Storywonder (7).png

I'm a storyteller, child of the King, and book enthusiast. I write to bring light, beauty, and truth to this dark world. I'm also a graphic designer with an eye for color and a musician with a love for movie soundtracks. 

Insta Posts.png
3.png

Shining light on the wonder of stories

bottom of page