top of page

The Intelligencer Chronicles - A Snippet Series


Remember that one time (or many times!) you worked hard on a project, anticipating the joyous reactions of others once they saw it? But just before you revealed it, a bundle of nerves hits you and doubts creep into your mind. What are they going to say? Will they like it? What if they hate it?


The same thing happens to writers when it comes to sharing their writing. They invest so much time scribbling away, excited for the words on the page to come alive in the hands of the readers, but just before that happens they begin to worry. What will they think of me? What if they hate my writing?


Some part of me has always been scared to share my writing with others. Partly because it feels so vulnerable and because I wonder if my writing is "good enough" to share.

I've come to realize that writing, along with everything else in life, will never be perfect and takes time to develop. And sometimes you just need to take a leap of faith and put yourself out there. Because who knows? Maybe my web of words will impact others in ways I could never foresee. Plus, God has a habit of using the imperfect to reveal His perfect self!


So, I think it is about time I shared some of my fiction writing with you all! Introducing The Intelligencer Chronicles, a fiction snippet series I'm writing.

 

Synopsis: Hazel Jamison always wanted to be kidnapped. But when it finally happens, it is nothing like she expected and way more complicated than she realized. Everything about her normal life fades when she is initiated into an extraordinary underground agency. Life becomes much more than getting good grades and reading the next book. Will she be able to become the proper intelligencer that everyone hopes she can and learn to trust those she knows best?


The Intelligencer Chronicles - First Kidnapping

I’ve always wanted to be kidnapped. Why I couldn’t tell you. From the first time my little seven year old self read a mystery book, I’ve wanted to be kidnapped. I created kidnapping scenarios and played them in my head whenever I was bored. Which was fairly often. I eagerly awaited the time I would be kidnapped, make a harrowing escape, and proclaim to the world how awesome I was.


Turns out that my first kidnapping experience didn’t happen until I was in high school. Instead of a harrowing escape or a bold display of defiance, I went along with it. And instead of a bad guy, it was my cousin, Clayton, who kidnapped me.


“Where are we going and why did you kidnap me?” I ask for the fifth time in a tone of annoyance. “You know I always walk home from school by myself for a reason.”


“You’ll see, Hazel! I assure you, you will enjoy our destination.” His soft brown eyes flicker with amusement. “And how many times do I have to say it? I did not kidnap you!”


“Following me, pulling up to the curb, leaping out and yanking me into your car sounds like kidnapping to me!” My voice is louder than I intended.


Clayton just laughs. “Fortunately for you, I’m family and we live in the same house.” He shoots me a smirk. I roll my eyes and bite back a smile.


At a stoplight, he checks his phone, before asking, “By the way, are you hungry?”


I fold my arms. Truth is, I totally am, but he doesn’t get off the hook so easily. “Why is it that you guys always think that if a girl is angry that means she is hungry?”


“Gosh, you are moody today. Will you please just chill? I was just thinking it would be good to grab something to eat before we head to our destination.” He makes a turn and glances at me. “Anything sound good?”


Slight guilt creeps into my heart and I sigh. “Sorry. Honestly, I could totally go for a Chipotle bowl right now.”


He grins. “Now you’re talking! Chipotle will totally send your hangry mood out the window!” He winks at me.


I smile and punch him in the arm.

 

Come back next Wednesday for part two!

Untitled design (6).png
Storywonder (7).png

I'm a storyteller, child of the King, and book enthusiast. I write to bring light, beauty, and truth to this dark world. I'm also a graphic designer with an eye for color and a musician with a love for movie soundtracks. 

Insta Posts.png
3.png

Shining light on the wonder of stories

bottom of page