top of page

A Peek Into My 2021 TBR list


What in the world is a TBR list?


TBR stands for "to be read." It is not all that uncommon for avid readers to create a list of books they want to read next (because we all know one can't read everything all at once!) For the past three years, I have kept a list of every new book I read that year (see pictures below). This year I also wanted to create a list of books to read in the future.

But how does one go about making a TBR list in the first place?


Simple! Just take a stroll through Barnes and Noble and keep your phone camera ready. Or look up your favorite books on Goodreads and see what other books the author has written. Or just make friends with a bunch of writers. ;) Chances are one or two of them will be publishing a book this year and they're going to need some beta readers to review their books. :D Or check out Tim Challis's handy reading challenge list and find books to match some of the categories.


I've used all of these methods to find books for my 2021 TBR list. Here's what I've got so far:


- Shadow by Kara Swanson (sequel to Dust and cover reveal is coming on Jan. 19th!)

- Fifteen by Amie Woleslagle (This is a book of poetry and I haven't really read much poetry before.)

- Dream Big by Bob Goff (I love Bob Goff's books and looking forward to reading this one!)

- The Midnight Library by Matt Haig (This book won a Goodreads Choice award.)

- The Rembrandt Conspiracy by Deron Hicks (The cover caught my eye and I may or may not enjoy reading every middle-grade mystery novel out there. ;) )

- City Spies: Golden Gate by James Ponti (Book two of a series by a fantastic writer.)

- Save the Cat! by Blake Synder (This is a book recommended by many authors, screenwriters, and filmmakers.)

- Sensing God by Joel Clarkson (The title and subtitle captured my attention and I love the cover!)

- The Anatomy of Story by John Truby (I've been needing to read this one for quite a while.)

- Show Your Work by Austin Kleon (I've read his other two books and wish to complete the series.)

- The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielson (Second book in the Ascendance series.)

- The Story of With by Allen Arnold (Alan spoke at an online writing conference last year and this book dives deeper into what he spoke about.)

- Dialogue by Robert Mckee (Since I can't get my hands on Story by Robert Mckee, I'm going to read this one!)

I have no doubt that I'll be adding to the list as the year goes by.


Now I want to hear from YOU! What is on your 2021 TBR list? How do you find new books to read?


P.S. Check out my profile on Goodreads!

32 views2 comments
Untitled design (6).png
Storywonder (7).png

I'm a storyteller, child of the King, and book enthusiast. I write to bring light, beauty, and truth to this dark world. I'm also a graphic designer with an eye for color and a musician with a love for movie soundtracks. 

Insta Posts.png
3.png

Shining light on the wonder of stories

bottom of page