top of page

Inktober Prompt #2 - Suit


(I didn't have much inspiration for this prompt and came up with this short bit that could easily turn into a much longer story.)


When I moved to Scotland, I never imagined that I would get my dream job. And yet here I was, an employee at Just A Narnian bookstore. I worked here for three months now and still had heart eyes every time I entered the shop.

Just A Narnian was your average hole-in-the-wall type store; it's tiny space crammed with every novel your heart could desire. Towering wood shelves of all sizes and shapes claimed every available wall space while cozy chairs resided by bay windows. A smattering of book-related nicknacks took up residence on half of the check-out counter, the other half sporting mouthwatering chocolate bars and the cash register.

"Good morning, Lucy!"

I smiled at the jolly Scotswoman. "Good morning, Mrs. Harrington."

Rose Harrington and her husband Peter owned the bookshop; it could very well have been Frank and Helen, the first King and Queen of Narnia, for the way they carried themselves, however. Or perhaps they were Mr. and Mrs. Beaver in human form. Who was to say?

"Ah, there's our bright-eyed girl! How are you faring this morn?" Mr. Harrington shuffled from the back, carrying a box of books. While Mrs. Harrington had been the one to conduct my job interview, it was Mr. Harrington who declared that I was hired. I suspected that he hired me because of my name (after the youngest Pevensie) and my love for books.

"I'm doing well, thank ye kindly!" The twitch of Mr. Harrington's nose betrayed the fact that my Scottish accent was still terrible.

"Good, good," he nodded at me and moved on. His typical tweed suit appeared rather worn today.

I spun back to Mrs. Harrington just in time to catch a slight frown on her face.

"What's wrong?" I asked.

She waved her hand. "Oh, nothing to worry about, dear." She scooped up today's to-do list. "Let's see, why don't you start by tidying up the books in the romance section and then running a duster through the mystery section."

"Will do." I spun on my heel and began an eager walk to my favorite sections.

"Lucy! One more thing!"

I paused and looked over my shoulder.

"We'll be interviewing another potential employee today to help with more of the heavy lifting around here. A fellow by the name of Edmund Blakesfield."

"You serious?" I said with incredibility.

Her warm laugh filled the shop, her eyes full of merriment. "Quite serious, darling. Quite serious."

 

What do you think? Want the story to continue? Let me know in the comments below!

40 views1 comment
Untitled design (6).png
Storywonder (7).png

I'm a storyteller, child of the King, and book enthusiast. I write to bring light, beauty, and truth to this dark world. I'm also a graphic designer with an eye for color and a musician with a love for movie soundtracks. 

Insta Posts.png
3.png

Shining light on the wonder of stories

bottom of page