top of page

The Intelligencer Chronicles - Snippet Series


Welcome back, my friends, for part two!


The Intelligencer Chronicles - Double Surprise

“Well, we’re here!” Clayton put the car in park and I glance out the windshield at the tall red building with white columns and lots of glass windows.


“The library?” I say around my last mouthful of food. “How is this a surprise if I come here all the time?”

But Clay doesn’t hear me as he climbs out of the car. He walks over to my side and opens the door. “Let’s go.”


I shove my empty Chipotle bowl on the dash and climb out. The car beeps as Clay hits the lock button and walks inside.


I follow behind. Something is up, I just know it. My steps slow as I become unsure about entering the building as Clayton has just done. He has played plenty of pranks on me before. Could this be another?

Clay peeks his head out the massive whitewashed door. “Are you coming or what?”


I nod and tighten my sandy brown ponytail. I brace myself as I tug the door open and slip inside.


“SURPRISE!”


I blink as my eyes adjust to the dimmer lighting and my jaw drops. A large group of family and friends stand in a semi circle, dressed in crazy weird attire. They launch into singing “happy birthday” as I try to gather my scattered brains.


I suddenly realize the song is over and everyone is staring at me. I turn red. “Wow. Um.. hi everyone and thank you!” I smile and look at the faces surrounding me. Suddenly the weird attire begins to make sense when I spot someone dressed up as Sherlock Holmes. My parents greet me, dressed as Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett, I assume. I smile even bigger.


“Happy birthday, sweetie!” Mom gives me a hug.


“Thanks, Mom! I’m still so shocked!”


Dad makes a great show of trying to bow like a gentleman. “It is my great pleasure to wish you a happy birthday, daughter!”


I laugh. “Thanks, Dad!”


“Alrighty, so there is a room at the back of this floor with supplies to put together your own costume. You and Clay can go back there and find something to wear, okay?” Mom gestures to the right. I nod.

My smile is large as I greet other family members and friends. I pick my way over to Clay and yank his arm, dragging him to the back room.


“Will you please stop yanking my arm? I know you’re excited, but I really don’t want to dress up.”


“Ha! You don’t have a choice,” and I barge into the room.


My eyes widen at the amount of costumes available and practically squeal with delight.


Clay smiles. “See, now are you glad that I “kidnapped” you?” He makes air quotes with his fingers.

“Yes, I am. Sorry for being such a grouch. It was a long day and I really did need food. Now go over to the mens section and find something to put on!”


“Yes, miss bossy,” he smirks and begins rummaging the rack. I turn around to face the women’s rack, wondering which character to play. I whip through a few outfits, when I’m suddenly greeted with a pair of eyes on the opposite side of the rack. I just about scream, when a hand covers my mouth from behind and the lights go out.


“We can’t have you screaming now, miss.” A voice whispers in my ear. “I’m Agent Blakemore and if you want to stay awake, you’ll need to be quiet. One sound or sudden movement and you’ll be knocked out cold. Your choice.”

 

Oh boy! How's that for a cliffhanger? *sly smile* Come back next week for part three!

1 view0 comments
Untitled design (6).png
Storywonder (7).png

I'm a storyteller, child of the King, and book enthusiast. I write to bring light, beauty, and truth to this dark world. I'm also a graphic designer with an eye for color and a musician with a love for movie soundtracks. 

Insta Posts.png
3.png

Shining light on the wonder of stories

bottom of page